Salesforce Certified Technical Architect (SFCTA)

The Certified Technical Architect program is designed for technical architects who want to demonstrate their knowledge, skills, and capabilities to assessing customer architecture; designing secure, high-performance technical solutions on the platform; communicating technical solutions and design tradeoffs effectively to business stakeholders; and providing a delivery framework that ensures quality and success. Here are examples of the concepts you should understand to pass the exam:

  • Design a technical architecture solution that may span multiple platforms and include integration and authentication across systems
  • Manage the development lifecycle to ensure the delivery of highly secure solutions that are optimized for performance and built to scale
  • Articulate design considerations, trade-offs, benefits, and recommendations for a technical architecture


Recommended training for this certification

As preparation for this exam, Training and Certification recommends a combination of hands-on experience as a Technical Architect on the platform, training course completion, and self-study. Training and Certification recommends the following instructor-led courses, online courses, and other resources to guide your study:

  • !SF-DEV401 modules:
    • Application Essentials
    • Designing Apps for Multiple Users
    • Data Management
    • Visualforce Pages
    • Apex & Visualforce Controllers (DEV501) modules:
      • Apex
      • VF Controllers
      • Managing Development Lifecycle
      • Integrating with (DEV502)
      • Online course: Introduction to
      • Online course: Integration Basics
      • Online course: Introduction to Governance
      • Online course: Org Strategy
      • Online course: Integrating with An overview
      • Online course: Integrating with Security
      • Online course: Integrating with Outbound Messaging
      • Online course: Integrating with Salesforce to Salesforce
      • Developerforce Technical Library:
      • Developerforce Technical Library: Integration Patterns and Practices
      • Architect Core Resource Library


The Certified Technical Architect program has three components: (1) self-evaluation (2) multiple-choice exam (3) review board presentation. To earn the Certified Technical Architect credential, you must successfully complete all three components in this order. Successful completion of each component is required to move on to the next step.


  • 42 multiple-choice questions
  • 30 minutes allotted to complete the exam (online, non-proctored)
  • There is no registration fee
  • Current status as a Certified Developer is a prerequisite

Multiple-choice Exam:

  • 60 multiple-choice questions
  • 120 minutes allotted to complete the exam (proctored)
  • 63% is the passing score
  • Registration fee is USD 500
  • Retake fee is USD 250
  • No hard-copy or online materials may be referenced during the exam

Review Board Presentation

  • Presentation and discussion of the architecture solution for a hypothetical scenario and a customer case study
  • Registration fee is USD 6000 and includes two attempts
  • 4 hours allotted to complete the exam
  • No hard-copy or online materials may be referenced during the exam


Successful completion of online, release-specific Salesforce Certified Developer (SFCFD) exams is required to maintain the prerequisite to the Certified Technical Architect credential. Release exams are published three times a year, one for each of the major product releases. Successful maintenance of the prerequisite credential, Salesforce Certified Developer (SFCFD), is required to maintain this credential. An annual maintenance fee of $100 will be charged when registering for every third release exam, based on when the prerequisite credential was earned. The maintenance fee includes the three release exams and access to the supporting training material. Certified professionals will be notified automatically when new release training material and exams become available. In addition to maintaining the prerequisite credential, successful completion of online, and architect-level release-specific exams, leadership contributions to the Architect Community through activities such as speaking engagements, authoring opportunities, and serving as a review board judge may be required to maintain the Certified Technical Architect credential.


Accessing our website tells us you are happy to receive all our cookies. However you can change your cookie settings at any time. Find out more.   Got it!